Aimless Angel

I’ve been running aimlessly for years. It just hit me now. What’s funny is it only took one hard disk crash for me to finally figure it out. I had meaningless goals. I thought all these years I had it all figured out. Silly me.
In Ecclesiastes the word meaningless was mentioned 39 times. I learned that one Hebrew translation of the word means “breath”. Everything is just a breath- everything is meaningless, because it is fleeting.

Everything is meaningless! Ecclesiastes 1:2

So if everything is meaningless, then what is it that I should be really aiming for? Is it my career? A family of my own? To travel the world? And if so, how much do I need to achieve in order to finally say, “I’ve done it.”

And if [T]here is nothing new under the sun Ecclesiastes 1:9 then why do I want to do things that has never been done before? Why do I want to be someone that isn’t anyone else?

So I let it hit me again. I am who I was made to be. I am aimless without Jesus. That all of my life’s pursuit was meaningless until that moment when I rightly related it to God. I am a Kingdom worker and I’ll keep running as aimlessly as I can ’til I reach my one true goal, to bow at the feet of the King in Heaven. And ’til then, I’m as happy as I can be pursuing true joy. Despite me losing all my fleeting data 🙂

Ecclesiastes 2:10-11

11 I denied myself nothing my eyes desired;
    I refused my heart no pleasure.
My heart took delight in all my labor,
    and this was the reward for all my toil.
11 Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done
    and what I had toiled to achieve,
everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind;
    nothing was gained under the sun.

Leave a Reply

