Blessed beyond my bubble

While I was having my monday morning breakfast, I thought of calling this post Beyond messy. I am so glad I finished my meal first, did my quiet time and then decided on the title, cause it was so one crappy title. A little back story, I work from 8PM – 5AM so I only get to eat proper breakfast meals on Mondays. And I appreciate these moments so much that I am a little teary eyed when I see my eggs and coffee. ❤

Now let’s all move past my unhealthy love for breakfast. Nov 1, 2014 I resolved to fast from twitter, instagram and facebook. I can’t remember when it happened, but it did. Suddenly, Rosee and I found ourselves letting Zyra change our facebook passwords. It sounds kind of extreme, but that’s how much we needed to be accountable to someone that we won’t check facebook.

Day 1 was torture for me. I honestly couldn’t sleep and I kept thinking about my social media presence. I felt beyond lost. That’s when I saw God’s hand in everything. Day 2 came and I went to sunday service where the message was about Pleasing God in EVERYTHING. His voice was so loud. He was getting the message across. Angel, you are not pleasing me in your private online social media life. For those who heard the message, it talked about 4 points. (1) Pleasing God in your family, (2) at work, (3) in your private life and (4) even when it gets hard.

 2 Corinthians 5:9-10 So whether we are at home or away, we make it our aim to please Him. For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, so that each of us may receive what is due us for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.

 Whether we are at home or away or checking our feeds, our aim is to please God. God could’ve just allowed me to be lost in my social media bubble, but day 3 came and I just feel so free, so refreshed, beyond blessed.

image
My new best friends

I haven’t miss a day yet of reading and writing and praying. I read everyday, but I used to find it hard to write consistently. I’m sure my victory today and my victory 27 days from now will only be through God’s grace. I started this thing and didn’t even know what I was praying for exactly. When I prayed, and prayed more, God led me to Psalm 19:7.

… The law of the Lord is perfect, refreshing to the soul

As I pray for the refreshment of my soul, I zone in on God. Beyond our social media bubbles, the world is spinning, the word is living. Try it, for a day or a week, burst that bubble. My prayer for you and I is that we find ourselves pleasing before God in everything.